Land, Law and Te Tiriti o Waitangi: Climate Mobility to Aotearoa NZ

Actions and Detail Panel

On Sale 3/07/2021 at 12:00 AM
Remind me

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Event description
Online talanoa about the implications of migrating to Aotearoa New Zealand in the context of climate change

About this event

In Aotearoa New Zealand, public and political discussion of climate mobilities generally focuses on the Pacific. Aotearoa New Zealand has expressed a responsibility towards supporting our Pacific neighbours, and is a likely destination for future climate migrants due to political and relational connections with the Pacific.

Accordingly, the New Zealand Government is preparing to develop an ‘action plan’ to respond to Pacific climate mobilities. The Government has already committed to providing $150 million in offshore Pacific-focused climate-related support, and onshore, some local councils are preparing to support future climate migrants.

However, the role of tangata whenua and Te Tiriti o Waitangi in climate mobilities governance is rarely mentioned. Further, some coastal communities are earmarked for “managed retreat,” raising more questions about the Government’s obligations to tangata whenua under Te Tiriti o Waitangi.

To give space for these important conversations, the Centre for Asia Pacific Refugee Studies at the University of Auckland is hosting the third in our series, "Across the changing shores: Climate Mobilities in the Pacific". Knowledge holders from across the Pacific and Aotearoa will talanoa about patterns of climate mobility, immigration legislation, support services, and the right to self-determination.

The talanoa will be guided by _____(tbc)_________________

Speakers include

  • Reverend Suamalie N. T. Iosefa Naisali, Chairman of the Reformed Christian Church of Tuvalu
  • rest - tbc

You will be sent a Zoom link for the webinar closer to the time through the email address that you provide to Eventbrite. Or, click this link: https://auckland.zoom.us/j/98158187942

30th of June, 08:00 London / 13:00 Dhaka / 17:00 Sydney / 19:00 Auckland, Suva, Majuro / 20:00 Apia, Nukuʿalofa


		Land, Law and Te Tiriti o Waitangi: Climate Mobility to Aotearoa NZ image
Share with friends

Date and time

Location

Online event

Save This Event

Event Saved