$102.03 – $248.47

Teachers Matter Book Club 2020

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Event description
Be part of a community of educators exploring texts and themes around teaching and learning, both philosophically and practically.

About this Event

Be part of a community of educators exploring texts and themes around teaching and learning, both philosophically and practically.

For 2020 we will read a minimum of 3 books together. You will receive reading guides and facilitated weekly online discussions (via Facebook).

Great for individuals to dig deeper into their reading and this could also be handy for whole staff development or for beginning, relieving and returning teachers to build up their professional reading in achievable chunks.

Lead by classroom teacher and passionate educator, Megan Gallagher, the Teachers Matter Book Club guided sessions are on hosted weekly on a private Facebook Page.

WEEKLY ON WEDNESDAYS Starts March 4th

New Zealand 8-9pm

Victoria, Australia 6-7pm

NSW, Australia 6-7pm

Adelaide, Australia 5.30-6.30pm

Queensland, Australia 5-6pm

Western Australia 3-4pm

United Arab Emirates 11-12 noon

South Africa 9-10am

United Kingdom 7-8am

First Book for 2020 is The Whole Brain Child by Dr Dan. Siegel and Tina Payne Bryson.

  • In this pioneering, practical book, Daniel J. Siegel, neuropsychiatrist, and parenting expert Tina Payne Bryson demystify the meltdowns and aggravation, explaining the new science of how a child's brain is wired and how it matures. The 'upstairs brain', which makes decisions and balances emotions, is under construction until the mid-20s. And especially in young children, the right brain and its emotions tend to rule over the logic of the left brain.
  • By applying these discoveries to everyday parenting and the classroom, you can turn any outburst, argument, or fear into a chance to integrate your child's brain and foster vital growth. With clear explanations, age-appropriate strategies for dealing with day-to-day struggles, and illustrations that will help you explain these concepts to your child, The Whole-Brain Child shows you how to cultivate healthy emotional and intellectual development so that your children can lead balanced, meaningful, and connected lives.

Sign up today...

Share with friends

Date and Time

Save This Event

Event Saved