Free

Scope, Scale and Pace: Recognising Climate Mobilities in the Pacific

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Online talanoa about the issues and uncertainties around defining the scale, pace and urgency of climate mobilities in the Pacific

About this Event

Many communities in the Pacific are on the frontline of the impacts of climate change. Even with radical climate policy, rising temperatures are predicted to contribute to a global average sea-level rise of up to 77 centimetres by 2100. In the South Pacific, sea level rise occurs alongside other environmental changes, including more frequent storms, more intense waves, and resulting food insecurities.

Exposed communities have diverse responses to these changes. Migration is often a last resort; most people do not want to leave their ancestral homes. Others may lack the means to migrate, or if able, may opt to relocate either internally or across national borders. Yet, external migration is constrained by immigration policy: no legal instruments currently accommodate so-called “climate refugees.”

To highlight these issues and uncertainties, the Centre for Asia Pacific Refugee Studies (CAPRS) at the University Auckland is hosting an online talanoa, the first in the "Across the changing shores: Climate Mobilities in the Pacific" online series. We will be joined by experts from across the Pacific who will talanoa about the timing, extent and patterns of Pacific climate mobilities.

The talanoa will be facilitated by Moñeka de Oro, an indigenous CHamoru mother, peace activist, educator and community organiser based in the Mariana Islands.

Speakers include

  • Reverend Suamalie N. T. Iosefa Naisali, Chairman of the Reformed Christian Church of Tuvalu
  • Professor Jane McAdam, Scientia Professor of Law; Direct of Kaldor Centre for International Refguee Law, UNSW
  • Pelenise Alofa, National Coordinator for the Kiribati Climate Action Network

You will be sent a Zoom link for the webinar closer to the time through the email address that you provide to Eventbrite. The link can also be accessed through this page.

Other time zones: 08:00 London / 13:00 Dhaka / 17:00 Sydney / 19:00 Auckland, Suva, Majuro / 20:00 Apia, Nukuʿalofa


		Scope, Scale and Pace: Recognising Climate Mobilities in the Pacific image
Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved