Thursday Heritage Concert - Variations for a quintet

Thursday Heritage Concert - Variations for a quintet

Actions and Detail Panel


Date and time


Central City Library

44-46 Lorne Street

Auckland, Auckland 1010

New Zealand

View map

Kotuku Quintet - Simon Ansell (violin), John Seagar (violin), Judith Gust (viola), Sally-Anne Brown (cello), Louise Webster (piano, viola)

About this event

The wonderful Kotuku Quintet return to the stage to conclude our Spring series for 2022 with a programme of quintets featuring different instrument combinations. The main work is the String Quintet in G minor K 516 with two violas, written in May 1787 during the final illness of Mozart’s father. The key of G minor reflects Mozart’s feelings of anguish and anxiety as he faces the death of one so loved. The extra viola in the ensemble adds to the deeper and richer timbre.

This is followed by a movement from a work for piano and string quartet, the Quintet in Eb major K. 452 by Mozart, originally scored for piano and woodwind – oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon.

Bookings essential as spaces are limited. We will do our best to accommodate walk ups on the day but can't guarantee entry.

The Spring Heritage Concert series 2022 is made possible through the generous support of the Auckland Libraries Heritage Trust.

Share with friends